Things You Can Do Today To Stop Jacksonville’s Human Rights Ordinance

#1 Make plans to attend one of the following City Council meetings. Your attendance is needed!  We would love for you to speak at the meetings, but if you don’t want to, you can grab a “No to HRO” blue sticker from us.  We’re also suggesting that you wear American flag blue to show your solidarity with us.  For the January 24th meeting, we recommend arriving by no later than 4:30 pm to ensure a seat and better parking access as the LGBT supporters of the HRO plan to fill the room up early. Hearings are at City Hall at St. James Building (117 W. Duval St. Jacksonville, FL  32202).

Jan. 24th 5:00 pm 1st Reading/Debate (entire city council)
Feb. 6th 8:30 am Neighborhoods, Community Investments & Services Committee
Feb. 7th 12:30 pm Rules Committee
Feb. 8th 8:30 am Finance Committee
Feb. 14th 5:00 pm 2nd Reading/Final Vote (entire city council)

If you wish to speak, please be sure to submit a speaker’s card if you want to speak. (Cards can be found at the front of the room.)  If you need help with talking points, you can look at this one-page document about why the bill is bad.

#2 You can call or email Jacksonville’s City Council members asking them to vote no on the HRO.  If you cannot attend the meeting in person, please make sure you send emails to ALL Jacksonville City Council members as listed below.

District Council Members

District Name Phone Number Email Address
1 Joyce Morgan (904) 630-1389 JoyceMorgan@coj.net
2 Al Ferraro (904) 630-1392 Ferraro@coj.net
3 Aaron L. Bowman (904) 630-1386 ABowman@coj.net
4 Scott Wilson (904) 630-1394 SWilson@coj.net
5 Lori N. Boyer (904) 630-1382 LBoyer@coj.net
6 Matt Schellenberg (904) 630-1388 MattS@coj.net
7 Reggie Gaffney (904) 630-1384 RGaffney@coj.net
8 Katrina Brown (904) 630-1385 KBrown@coj.net
9 Garrett L. Dennis (904) 630-1395 GarrettD@coj.net
10 Reginald L. Brown (904) 630-1684 RBrown@coj.net
11 Danny Becton (904) 630-1383 DBecton@coj.net
12 Doyle Carter (904) 630-1380 DoyleC@coj.net
13 Bill Gulliford (904) 630-1397 Gulliford@coj.net
14 Jim Love (904) 630-1390 JimLove@coj.net

At-Large Council Members

Group Name Phone Number Email Address
1 Anna Lopez Brosche (904) 630-1393 ABrosche@coj.net
2 John R. Crescimbeni (904) 630-1381 JRC@coj.net
3 Tommy Hazouri (904) 630-1396 THazouri@coj.net
4 Greg Anderson (904) 630-1398 GAnderson@coj.net
5 Samuel Newby (904) 630-1387 SNewby@coj.net 

#3 You can give a gift to help us defeat this measure.  These are designated funds that will go directly to the campaign against the HRO.

#4 You can forward this information to your friends and family.  Ask those who would be concerned by this issue to attend the hearings and/or call and email the Jacksonville City Council.

#5 For more information, here are some additional resources.  

One page analysis of the new 2017 ordinance

Full text of the new deceptively worded 2017 bill

Resources & videos on threat of Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity (SOGI) laws

Understanding and responding to the transgendered movement

Video of the one-sided City Council public hearing introducing the HRO on January 4, 2017


Things You Can Do Today To Stop Obama’s Radical Agenda For Our Schools

#1: You can sign the petition respectfully urging Florida Governor Rick Scott to stand with other governors in defending and protecting our children.

#2: You can give a gift today to stand with the organization in Florida that’s standing up for our children and grandchildren and is unafraid to stand up to legislators and governors of either party to give your values a voice. Your gift – of $25, $50, $100, or even $500 or more – will go to work right away toward efforts to make sure Florida children have privacy and safety when they use the restroom, locker room, or shower at school. Give to the Florida Family Policy Council today HERE!

#3: You can help us spread this important time-sensitive message by forwarding this blog post to your family and friends who may also be concerned with this issue.

#4: You can contact your US Senator and US Representative in Washington and tell them to declare that Obama’s “guidance” is NOT the intent or proper interpretation of the law and to retake Congress’ proper authority from an out-of-control executive branch.

#5: You can contact your local school board and district superintendent and urge them to protect our children’s privacy and safety. You can tell them Obama’s edict is not binding, it’s not law, and it’s not good for our children. Urge them to refuse to follow the president’s “guidance.”

President Obama and his administration are working to turn our taxpayer-funded schools into a social laboratory experiment that puts children at risk. Will you stand with us today as we refuse to surrender our children’s privacy and safety to President Obama’s political agenda? Declare with us, “Enough is enough!”

Additional Resources:
Please click here for videos, articles, and more to assist you as you make your voice heard on this important issue.